Going to work is harder with you gone. For so many reasons. Surprisingly, dealing with customers doesn’t make it worse–even when I have to explain what happened. That’s healing in it’s way; not talking about you is harder.

Its the little things I miss. Not just your movements inside me, not just having a reason to sing under my breath when I’m working. Sometimes it feels like there’s no light at the end of the tunnel. I don’t hate my job, but I was ready to take a nice long break while I got to know you. Now there will be at least ten months–probably more–before that kind of break is coming again. And you won’t come with it.

Things just seem pointless some days. My life’s work–smiling sweetly and serving coffee. My life has meaning, but my job doesn’t. And without you, I question even that much.

I try to just get through it. It’s not so bad, my job. My life. But it’s so much emptier now. I ache inside and out. I miss you so much.

